There are several high-quality mayonnaise brands that are great, and Best Foods is the most popular. But if you’re lactose intolerant or vegan, you’ve probably wondered, is Best Foods mayo dairy-free?
Best Foods Real Mayonnaise is dairy-free because it does not contain milk products. However, it is not vegan because it contains eggs. Traditionally, mayonnaise is not made with dairy products.
In this article, we’ll find out if mayo has dairy in it and what are the ingredients of Best Foods Mayonnaise. We’ll also look at what brands of mayonnaise are not dairy-free and other interesting themes around dairy-free and vegan mayo.
Let’s dive right in.
Now embark on a dairy-free lifestyle with The Vegan Co. Mayonnaise.
Shop now! pic.twitter.com/a5m5ehWb0W
— The Vegan Co. (@vegancoindia) February 4, 2021
Does mayo have dairy in it?
No. Mayo does not have dairy in it. It is typically made with eggs, oil, and vinegar or lemon juice. It can be consumed by someone who is lactose intolerant.
Dairy refers to products that are made from the milk of other mammals, such as cows, sheep, and goats. Dairy does not refer to eggs (which obviously come from chickens and not mammals).
Virtually all brands of mayonnaise do not contain milk.
Mayonnaise is made by emulsifying eggs, oil, and some type of acid, usually lemon juice or vinegar. Emulsifying refers to a process of combining two or more liquids that are unmixable. Eggs are animal products but not dairy products.
There are temporary and permanent emulsions. Mayonnaise is a permanent emulsion. The lecithin in the egg yolks that are used in making mayonnaise is a common ingredient that serves as the binding agent.
So if you have a dairy allergy or are lactose intolerant, but you still want to enjoy the creamy texture and delicious flavor of mayo, it is okay to eat most brands of mayonnaise. The consumption of milk could lead to a spike in your blood sugar because of the total sugars in dairy products.
That said, if you’re on a dairy-free diet, it’s best to check the ingredients list while shopping or to ask your host if you’ve been invited to dinner before consuming traditional mayonnaise because there are some that are made with condensed milk. In which case, you’ll want to avoid those.
Most commercial mayonnaise brands do not have dairy. But they have the following simple ingredients:
- Soybean oil
- Distilled vinegar
- Eggs or egg yolks
- Lemon juice concentrate
- Spices and herbs for flavor and color, like paprika
- Preservatives and food additives like calcium disodium EDTA
Some brands also use DM Modified food starch as an emulsifier. Now, let’s check out the ingredients of Best Foods mayonnaise.
Premium quality Best Foods mayonnaise… pic.twitter.com/uibdlyNaEu
— Raj Bachu (@HilandsFoods) June 8, 2022
What are the ingredients of Best Foods mayonnaise?
The following are the ingredients of Best Foods mayonnaise:
- Soybean oil
- Cage-free eggs
- Distilled vinegar
- Lemon juice concentrate
- Calcium disodium EDTA (used to protect quality)
- Natural flavors
In addition to the above, there is the egg-free best foods vegan dressing. It’s a plant-based alternative to the traditional best foods mayo. Both are ideal for commercial kitchens.
If you’ve ever wondered if mayo is okay if you’re observing a gluten-free diet, you can see that the aforementioned are gluten-free ingredients. So, you don’t have to worry about the possibility of contracting celiac disease.
If you have gluten sensitivity, be sure to check the label of other brands anytime you’re buying mayo to confirm that there are no gluten ingredients. You may also want to check if sorbic acid has been used as a preservative in case you’re also sensitive to it.
Ever wondered what’s the difference between miracle whip and mayo? Both are widely used condiments made with virtually the same ingredients. Oil, egg yolk, lemon juice, or vinegar are common ingredients for both.
Mayo is the less refined version, while miracle whip has been sweetened with high fructose corn syrup (HFCS) and also contains water and spices. It has fewer calories and fat, but because it is high in HFCS, it has been linked to many health issues.
— Cook Took (@SonaliP33636599) August 7, 2021
What brands of mayo are NOT dairy-free?
There are a few brands of mayo that have dairy in them. Del Monte Eggless Mayonnaise, Saffola Eggless Mayonnaise, and Maionese de Leite are examples of mayo brands that are not dairy-free. But as a general rule, all popular commercial mayo brands are dairy-free.
Virtually all the popular American mayo brands are dairy-free.
If you want mayo that is not dairy free, you’ll probably have to explore some foreign brands on Amazon. The brands offer eggless mayo, but they contain milk. As such, they are not vegan.
— Jay Foster (@Graziellajune) May 25, 2022
Can Vegans eat mayo?
As a general rule, vegans should avoid regular mayonnaise which typically contains eggs. But most mainstream brands of mayo offer a vegan mayonnaise offering that is not made with eggs or dairy products.
So, mayonnaise is not traditionally vegan because eggs are one of the key ingredients. However, if you are on a vegan diet, you can easily find several dairy-free and egg-free mayonnaise at the grocery store and all-natural food stores.
Here are examples of commercial vegan mayonnaise brands:
- Follow Your Heart Vegenaise
- Primal Kitchen
- Good & Gather (Target house brand)
- Sir Kensington
- Just Mayo by Hampton Creek
- Spectrum Organic’s Eggless Lightless Canola Mayo
They are all great for vegetarian menu items and food products.
Vegenaise is highly popular because it’s available in many varieties. You have it in: original, grapeseed oil, organic, and expeller-pressed. They all have similar tastes, so at the end of the day, what’s best for you is simply a question of personal preference.
Some vegans also make their own mayo at home.
There are several recipes online. Some make use of canola oil, mustard seed, avocado oil, sunflower oil, and apple cider vinegar, among other ingredients. If you like mayo with a tangy flavor, don’t forget to add mustard powder and lemon juice.
As you know, Whole Foods is one of the best stores to get natural foods, including a lot of vegan offerings.
Have you ever wondered what makes it unique? That’s the theme of a recent article I published. In it, I get into Whole Foods’ core values and motto and why it is so successful. I also explained how it helps the community and whether it’s the most expensive grocery store. Then, I wrapped it up by revealing whether it’s truly worth the money.
Just click the link to read it on my site.
Have you tried our Garden Herb Vegan Mayonnaise yet? Made with hints of parsley, thyme, sage and tarragon. It’s perfect when added to a gourmet burger, sandwich, salad, for dipping chips… or just eating out of the jar! Low FODMAP, Gluten Free, Dairy Free & Vegan 🙌 pic.twitter.com/G2xKQLzx8I
— BAY’S KITCHEN (@bayskitchenuk) October 30, 2021
Is vegan mayo dairy free?
Yes. Vegan mayo is dairy free. It does not contain any dairy products. It is made of two main ingredients: soy milk (or aquafaba) and oil. So, vegan mayo is different from regular mayo, which is made of eggs and oil.
Even though its ingredients are different, vegan mayo is a great substitute for regular mayo. By definition, anything labeled vegan should be free of eggs, dairy, or any animal product even including honey.
Regular mayo, such as Best Foods real mayonnaise or Hellmann’s light mayonnaise (both are actually owned by the same company), do contain eggs even though they do not contain milk. So, they are not vegan. Vegan mayo contains milk derived from plants such as soybeans, and it does not contain whole eggs or egg yolk since these are animal products.
Unlike regular mayo, which contains egg and milk derived from animals, soy milk or aquafaba does the heavy lifting in vegan mayo.
Aquafaba is water in which chickpeas or other pulses have been cooked — liquid water in a can of beans. If you don’t like or cannot eat soy milk, you can always opt for vegan mayo made with aquafaba.
Vegan mayo is great as a sandwich spread for vegan salad dressings, vegan coleslaw, veganaise garlic bread, and other delicious foods.
In the article, we found out if mayo has dairy in it and what Best Foods Mayonnaise’s ingredients are.
We also looked at what brands of mayonnaise are not dairy-free and whether vegans can eat mayo. Lastly, we wrapped things up by considering if vegan mayo is dairy free.
Photo which requires attribution: